public class ben:harrell

May 3, 2006

Tech Resumes – Part 1

Filed under: Careers, Technology — benjamin harrell @ 5:02 am

We all have to update our resume at some point often times when unexpected šŸ™‚  fortunately I am not updating mine for that reason but while I am taking the time to update my resume I thought I would share my layout and logic in hopes that some n00b or recent grad might gain some insight.  I'm by no means an expert and I plan on posting my resume soon and would appreciate any feedback. 

 First, I would like to talk about the dreaded objective section.  Why does anyone still put this on their resume?  How many of you just paraphrase the job description you are applying for and throw in a few nuggets about how you "work well in teams" and are a "great communicator" who is "highly motivated"?  I don't think this is effective or appropriate anymore but this is just my opinion.  Joel Spolsky has a great post on cover letters and not getting your resume thrown in the trash here and I would like to reiterate a few things he has said and give you a tip on how to incorporate it into your resume.  Joel states that you should try to humanize yourself in your cover letter and I totally agree but since this post is about resumes I will tell you how to incorporate this same tactic in your actual resume.  My recent change was to change my "objective" (formerly "Professional Summary") section to actually be "about me".  May sound trite but this is actually very web friendly and I think "me" is very humanizing.  I have chose in my resume to mix the professional and human aspects this is how I did it.  If you, for example, are relocating to a certain area why not give a brief statement about when and why like: 

  I am a California native looking for Wall Street experience.  I feel my 7 years of experience would be invaluable to an Investment Bank in need of a Team Leader.  I have delivered several successful projects in Healthcare and Insurance and can't wait to get started in finance!

Sure you might think it sounds a little cheesy but you never know who might be able to connect to your situation.  Most people on Wall Street weren't born there! šŸ™‚  I will get back to the connecting possibilities in Part 4 when I discuss "Activities and Achievements" but for now let me know what you think and if you haven't updated your resume get to it!  Sometimes the only job security you have is an updated resume… 

1 Comment »

  1. Nice blog. Please contact me at: http://www.dotnetslackers.com/contact.aspx about your blog.

    Thanks

    Comment by Sonu Kapoor — July 26, 2006 @ 5:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

